The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

 

VeryInspiringBlogger

 

Dear Reader,

I have been nominated for an award by a fantastic blogger. I’d like to thank Anxious Mom for her nomination. It really means a lot to me. Please check out her blog here

The Rules for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award:

  • 1) The nominee shall display the respective logo on her/his blog and link to the blogger that has nominated her/him.
  • 2) The nominee shall nominate 7-10 bloggers she/he admires, by linking to their blogs and informing them about the nomination.

To be called inspiring is so uplifting. It’s still, now such a huge shock for me to think people actually want to read what I write, never mind that people find me inspiring and even helpful. At school I was never much of a writer, to be honest, I wasn’t much of an academic. It took a writer to inspire me and to make me see the value of writing.

I had wanted to write for a long time when I began blogging a few years back, I have written reviews, news, help articles, you name it. But I always got bored of writing these things and worse, I found they were a hotbed for negativity. It never really bothered me to have people disagree with my views, but I wasn’t putting effort into the pieces because I didn’t really care about them.

When I began writing about my mental health it instantly felt different. I was writing about something that was personal to me, something important to me. Something that I found I was much more able to write about than vocalise.

As someone who struggles to talk about my problems vocally, it has been so rewarding for me to be able to write about them. But not just to write about them to receive support and guidance from people that understand and relate to what I am experiencing.

The community of writers I have found myself in has taught me a lot, it’s taught me not to be afraid, it’s taught me that even though the people who don’t understand mental illness may see any coping mechanism as attention seeking. There are people around who understand that sometimes doing things that may seem conventionally wrong, are the ways in which I, and others cope with the pain of mental illness. These people who support me don’t just support and teach me. They inspire me.

There are so many blogs I want to nominate so here goes:

Innerdragon

Waiting For Today

Aspergers on Toast

Depressionless

Blahpolar Diaries

A Frayed Knot

The Rabbit Hole

After Midnight: A Christian Bipolar

My Travels With Depression

Once again, thank you for my nomination Anxious Mom.

As Always,

The Elephant in the Room

 

5 thoughts on “The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. I love your last paragraph–about doing things that seem conventionally wrong to the people who don’t understand mental illness. Sometimes we need that boost that another fellow traveler can offer even at the same time we are at the point of being strong enough to listen to our gut feelings for the first time in our lives. Even the old me would probably disagree with the unconventional methods I am trying now. But it’s actually working!!!!! Can’t disagree with that! Carry on, Elephant. You know you are on the right path….

    Like

Leave a Reply

