A Mental Health Newspaper.

Dear Reader,

I want all my fellow mental health writers to help me out.

I have started a newspaper on the site paper.li

For anyone who hasn’t heard of it, it draws news feeds and creates an “edition” every day.

I thought it would be a great way to get other mental health writers not only find each other, but for other people to learn about mental illnesses.

What I would like is for anyone who wants to be part of it to let me know. You don’t have to do anything, or write anything extra. Just keep blogging the way you do. I will add your blog posts to the newspaper and each day a new edition of the paper will be published with 24 hours worth of posts.

Each post will link directly back to your blog.

I really want this to work, I really want to teach people and help people learn about mental illness.

So just let me know in the comments if you want to help 🙂

https://paper.li/e-1425069269

As Always,

The Elephant in the Room

63 thoughts on “A Mental Health Newspaper.

  1. Are posts automatically added to a queue, or do you decide which ones are added? Some of my posts are impulsive and quite frankly really immature/poorly constructed. However, some of my posts are really thoughtful, and thought out. I have no problem with mine being added, i just don’t want my little rants to be put on there, potentially triggering people or discouraging people as i can be quite pessimistic, and this is my only place to vent. I have a huge problem with impulsivity when i’m episodic.

    Like

    • I relate to what you say. I think a picture of how we are at the time of suffering is a great view into the life we live. I applaud your courage. I stopped blogging because I just could not write about how low I was feeling this Winter. I am sorry I did not. We do the best we can. Thanks goodness we have each other for support even if it is just being heard.

      Like

      • You don’t ever have to be sorry about things of that nature in your life – if anything i’m sorry that you feel the need to apologize for them. 😦 I know that some people (both those in recovery and those in the mental health community) are skeptical of online recovery communities, but i’ve come across so much support and encouragement that i wouldn’t trade it for the world. There are so many insightful and encouraging individuals like yourself that i come across – which i seek out in everyday life but simply don’t come across. I’m sorry you’ve been suffering since this winter, and i hope that you’re able to get back to blogging (assuming it’s something that brings you pleasure). If you can’t though, don’t beat yourself up. We all get into slumps sometimes, and compacting that negativity doesn’t ever help. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a good idea, I have posted the thing on Facebook and I would love to be a part of it. I find your blogs very interesting and having a place where we can share our opinions and views together in one place is great. I have OCD, anxiety, depression and Aspergers like you

    Like

  3. Ok, I have Parkinson’s disease. I don’t just write about Parkinson’s. But there is a file under the name, Narrative: Parkinson’s Disease which are all post written about PD, so you can pull from there. And if you want to pull from the other stuff, that would be fine.

    Thanks, Great Idea… JC

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would love to help! I know my blog focuses on my upcoming travel, but I also am using it as a platform to talk about my story with depression, anxiety, anorexia and how they lead me to journey across the world and start my recovery. Great Idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I would love to be a part. I just replied to your recent comment on my site. I have been really low but am bouncing back and will resume blogging soon. More detail in my response to your comment .

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a cool idea! I would love to join in and i’ve been in a series on depression recently that would be perfect for this. The only thing is that I don’t write solely about mental health. So if it’s automatic you might get random posts about pittsburgh or eating out or marriage or something. So if you have the ability as administrator to take out non-relevant posts then it would work.

    Like

  7. I would love to be a part of your project, if you would have me.Not all of my posts are related to mental health. However, whatever I write does stem from my ongoing struggle with depression. I love the idea. Also you have a great blog! Cheers! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

