Sorry It’s Been So Long

Dear Reader,

So it really has been quite a while since my last post, and I think its been good for me. You see a lot has happened, good, bad etc. But it means that I finally feel I have something useful and interesting to say to you all. So I’ll be gradually telling you about my last few weeks, over the next few posts.

I spoke before about how I had visited the charity Mind, I talked about how they made me feel so comfortable and for the first time I felt like someone wanted to help me!

So, after my initial meeting I received two letters, the first was inviting me to a 10-week long anxiety workshop. This workshop would be for 1.5 hours on a Friday. I mean, they said to me that I don’t have to attend every session. But I’m not sure that its for me, for now.

The second letter I received was from the counseling team, it was inviting me for an initial assessment. This would be to assess if counselling would be right for me, and what kind of counseling they could offer.

So, after a few emails back and forth my appointment was booked. On the day, I headed back to the centre and waited for my appointment.

The lady I spoke to was lovely, we talked about what I thought I needed help with and as was suggested in my previous meeting I mentioned grief counseling, then I proceeded to tell her about all of the sudden deaths in my life. I cried, was given tissue after tissue and after I had basically talked non-stop, she said that they could help me.

The only problem was I would have to go on a waiting list, which was fine. she said the maximum wait is usually 6 weeks, but To be honest I was worried about whether I’d have talked myself out of it in 6 weeks time. She said that she wished she could start helping me today. But sadly, she couldn’t. I would have to wait for a phone call to offer me an appointment.

So, the next day I was woken by my phone, it was mind offering me counselling starting the following week. I was amazed! I couldn’t believe it had happened so quick. I was eager to begin, nervous I suppose. I wasn’t sure what to expect.

I have been so up and down recently, I just don’t know how I feel.

I bought a lot of books recently, books on Aspergers, Depression, Bipolar, CBT and Mindfulness. I’m working through them slowly. I’m trying to help myself, but I also feel that learning things from these books is going to help me help other people.

As Always,

The Elephant in the Room

3 thoughts on “Sorry It’s Been So Long

  1. I wish Mind had services in my area. I have used the website and Elefreinds online forum they offer and find them great help. However the nearest Mind place is too far from me to get face to face support from them.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad to see you back and also to hear that you’re getting some help. I know that 6 weeks is a long time but just try and remind yourself why you’re doing this. Better times lie ahead and this is just part of getting there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

